Historic Cotswold Village

Press Release - Proposed Modifications - West Oxfordshire Local Plan 2031

Submission of Proposed Modifications - West Oxfordshire Local Plan 2031

The District Council submitted its Local Plan in July 2015 and following hearings held in November 2015 the examination was suspended to enable the Council to undertake further work and consult on proposed modifications to the plan.

I am writing to notify you that following publication of these modifications from 11 November – 23 December 2016, the District Council has now formally submitted the plan to the Planning Inspectorate together with the representations received and other relevant supporting documents.

In July 2015 Planning Inspector Mr Simon Emerson BSc DTp MRTPI conducted the Examination into the soundness of the plan, however during the suspension of the Examination Mr Emerson retired as a Planning Inspector. Mr Malcolm Rivett BA (Hons) MSc MRTPI has since been appointed to conduct the remainder of the Examination. He will publish a Guidance Note detailing the arrangements for the continuation of the Examination by Monday 27 March.

In the meantime, all submission documents are available to view on the Council’s website via the following link: www.westoxon.gov.uk/localplan2031

Copies are also available at the following locations (note: some documents are available in electronic format only).

West Oxfordshire District Council OfficesElmfieldNew Yatt Road


OX28 1PB

Tel: 01993 861000

Open: Monday – Friday 9am to 5pm

Witney Town Centre Shop3 Welch WayWitney

OX28 6JH

Tel: 01993 861000

Open: Monday – Friday 9am to 5pm

Witney Town CouncilTown HallMarket Square


OX28 6AG

Tel: 01993 704379

Open: Monday – Friday 9am to 1pm, 2pm to 5pm

Carterton Town Council19 Alvescot RoadCarterton

OX18 3JL

Tel: 01993 842156

Open: Monday – Friday 9.30am to 4.30pm

Chipping Norton Town CouncilThe GuildhallChipping Norton


Tel: 01608 642341

Open: Monday – Friday 9am to 1pm

Burford Visitor Information Centre33 High StreetBurford

OX18 4QA

Tel: 01993823558

Open: Monday – Saturday 9.30am to 5pm, Sunday 10am to 4pm

Bampton LibraryOld Grammar SchoolChurch View


OX18 2NE

Tel: 01993 850076

Burford Library86A High StreetBurford

OX18 4QF

Tel: 01993 823377

Carterton Library6 Alvescot RoadCarterton

OX18 3JH

Tel: 01993 841492

Charlbury LibraryCorner HouseMarket Street



Tel: 01608 811104

Chipping Norton LibraryGoddards LandChipping Norton


Tel: 01608 643559

Eynsham Library30 Mill StreetEynsham

OX29 4JS

Tel: 01865 880525

North Leigh LibraryMemorial HallPark Road

North Leigh

OX29 6SA

Tel: 01993 882935

Stonesfield LibraryVillage HallLongore


OX29 8EF

Tel: 01993 898187

Witney LibraryWelch WayWitney

OX28 6JH

Tel: 01993 703659

Woodstock LibraryHensington RoadWoodstock

OX20 1JQ

Tel: 01993 812832

Wychwood Library29 High StreetMilton-under-Wychwood


Tel: 01993 830281

For library opening times please contact the library direct or check on:


The examination hearing sessions will be held in two further stages commencing at the following times:

Stage 2: 10:00, Tuesday 9 May 2017

Stage 3: 10:00, Tuesday 11 July 2017

All Examination hearing sessions will be held at the following address:

Committee Rooms 1 and 2, Council Offices, Woodgreen, Witney, Oxon. OX28 1NB

The Inspector’s Guidance Note for the remainder of the Examination and a list of Matters and Questions and draft programme for the Stage 2 hearings will be published on the Local Plan website as soon as possible after its release. T

he Guidance Note will list the matters to be considered at each stage and will explain the procedures and deadline for notifying the Programme Officer if you wish to speak at the hearings. If you are unable to access the Local Plan website please contact the Programme Officer for alternative arrangements to be put in place.

To assist with the examination process, the Council has appointed an independent Programme Officer, who works under the direction of the Inspector, and her contact details are as follows:

Up until 07/04/2017

Helen Argo,

C/O Planning Policy Team

West Oxfordshire District Council


New Yatt Road


OX28 1PB

Tel: 01285 623101

Email: programme.officer@westoxon.gov.uk

After 07/04/2017 Rosemary Morton

C/O Planning Policy Team

West Oxfordshire District Council


New Yatt Road


OX28 1PB

Tel: 01628 672181

Email: programme.officer@westoxon.gov.uk

For further information regarding the submission of the Local Plan and the examination process, please contact the Programme Officer using the contact details above.

Alternatively, contact the Council’s Planning Policy Team on 01993 861667.

Yours faithfully,

Chris Signature

Chris Hargraves,

Planning Policy Manager